Types of Giraffes

Giraffe Species Index

  • Giraffe Species
    Genetic research led to a new taxonomic classification in 2016 when the formerly single species of giraffes changed to four species, five subspecies and two ecotypes. The new species are the northern giraffe, the southern giraffe, the reticulated giraffe and the Masai giraffe.
  • Masai Giraffe
    The Masai giraffe (Giraffa tippelskirchi) is the largest of all species which makes it the tallest terrestrial animal. The males can measure up to 19.5 feet height, and the females are not much smaller. The bulls can weigh up to 3,000 pounds.
  • Rothschild Giraffe
    The Rothschild’s giraffe formerly one of the subspecies is now considered and ecotype of the Northern giraffe because of the taxonomy changes of 2016. This giraffe also is known as Ugandan or Baringo dwells mainly in Kenya and Uganda.
  • Reticulated Giraffe
    The Reticulated Giraffe (Giraffa reticulata) has a coat pattern with uniform-colored spots and sharp edges making it easy to identify. They inhabit the savannas and open forests of Kenya, Ethiopia, and Somalia.
  • West African Giraffe
    The West African giraffe (Giraffa camelopardalis peralta) also known as Nigerian giraffe is one of the subspecies of the Northern giraffe which inhabits a small area of Nigeria and is probably the most threatened subspecies.
  • Northern Giraffe
    The Northern Giraffe (Giraffa camelopardalis) is a species that according to the new taxonomic classification of 2016 it has three subspecies, the Nubian, the Kordofan and the West African giraffes. The savannahs of Kenya and Ethiopia are its primary habitats.
  • Southern Giraffe
    The Southern Giraffe (Giraffa giraffa) has two subspecies, the Angolan giraffe, and the South African giraffe according to the new taxonomic classification of 2016. Both subspecies dwell in countries like Namibia, Botswana, South Africa and Zimbabwe.

Scroll to Top